In Person Exams

February 14-17th

We will be doing all day In Person Exams at the New Jersey Boat Sales and Expo in Edison
for a boat show rate $25.00 from February 14th -17th.

Please be sure to bring the following:

  • Printed copy of your course completion
  • Self addressed stamped envelope
  • $25 in cash or check (no credit or debit cards)


Give us a call if you have any additional questions or concerns.
CALL TODAY!

Military Discount

Any military service member who comes to a class that Coast Boating School does the registration for will receive a $25 discount with a valid military ID. This does not include classes where registration is done by the schools. Thank you for your service!

Certification - It's the Law!

Make sure you are meeting the NASBLA requirements.

If you are operating a motorized vessel in the state of New Jersey, you need a NJ Boat Safety Certification. There are restrictions on age. NJ Certificates are not necessarily transferable to other states unless you also have a NASBLA certificate.

In-Person Proctored Exams

Coast Boating School will be giving in-person proctored exams for www.Boat-Ed.com and www.BoaterExam.com. You can register online or by calling 732-279-0562.

In-Person Proctored Exams

2019 Classes

Our class schedule is posted for 2019 season. Please look at the drop down menu under Class Schedule to find a classroom class that fits your schedule.

2019 Classes

Instructors Needed

Must hold current US Coast Guard Captain's License.

Instructors Needed

Contact Us

Get Started Today

Contact Us

Boating school, serving the state of New Jersey since 1987 for private boat classes, boating certifications, hands-on training, and more.

Coast Boating School LLC was the first private boating school approved by the State of New Jersey in 1987. We are the largest private boating school in NJ, with more than 500 classes scheduled per season, and have certified over 60,000 students. Our course is approved by National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) and the New Jersey State Police. This means we meet a higher standard than just State approval. Don't be fooled by boating schools that state their instructors are NASBLA approved or their course meets NASBLA contents. Only a NASBLA approved course certificate is valid in every state. A NASBLA approved certificate also allows you an insurance discount. Make sure the boating school you choose has the NASBLA logo posted.

Coast Boating School is the only full-time boating school in New Jersey. We maintain an office in Tom's River all year and are here to answer all of your questions.

Our instructors are licensed United States Coast Guard Captains with many years of boating experience and are also trained and certified individually as instructors by the State, including background checks.

Our classroom course covers: safety, rules of the road, operating requirements, personal watercraft, New Jersey specific laws, and much more. All our classes are multi-day classes completed in two (2) sessions and include one (1) hour of homework between the sessions and the proctored exam. If you receive an 80% or better on your written exam, you will walk away with a usable temporary certificate. Taking a one-day course is a difficult way to learn the information and we do not recommend it. Our two-day course has a 98% pass rate.

We also do the proctored exam for the on-line boating safety course offered by Boat-Ed.com. The online course has an 86% pass rate and costs the same for course and proctored exam.

Private classes are offered for groups of 8 or more. For more information or to answer any questions on these types of class, please contact us at any time. Remember, a boating safety course will increase your knowledge and add to your confidence. We are here to make boating safer and therefore more fun!